Emergency telephone 6pm–8am: 01233 629 911

County Council: Ashford Borough Council

County Council

Local government is organised in different 'tiers'. In Kent there are three tiers; the county council, the district or borough council, and the parish or town council. 

Kent County Council covers the whole of the county and is responsible for services such as education (primary and secondary schools), highways (roads and pavements) and social services. Kent works closely with 12 district councils, one unitary authority (Medway Council) and more than 300 town and parish councils.

There are seven county councillors for the borough of Ashford.  

County councillors
Division Councillor
Ashford Central Mr J Wedgbury
Ashford East Mr S J G Koowaree
Ashford Rural East Mr A Wickham
Ashford Rural South Mr M J Angell
Ashford Rural West Mr C Simkins
Ashford South Mr D Smyth
Tenterden Mr P M Hill



Engagement Excellence Awards Logo

We would like to place cookies on your computer to make your experience of our website faster and more convenient. To find out more, please refer to our privacy policy . If you do not choose to accept cookies, some parts of this site may not work properly.

Please choose a setting: