Emergency telephone 6pm–8am: 01233 629 911

Potential East Kent merger: Ashford Borough Council

Potential East Kent merger


The district councils of Ashford, Canterbury, Dover, Shepway and Thanet have been looking into the feasibility of establishing a new single council for East Kent.

Councillors from all five authorities agreed in July 2016 to explore the advantages and disadvantages of a merger and to examine how a new single council could operate.

The purpose of a potential merger was set out in a Statement of intent [pdf] 154KB agreed by all the councils.

As a result, work has been progressing on a ‘Business Case’ which the councils commissioned the Local Government Association and Local Partnerships to prepare.

Five becomes four

On the basis of the findings from a five way Business Case:

  • The councils of Canterbury, Dover, Shepway and Thanet then considered a four-way Business Case.

Read the five-way business case [pdf] 2MB

Read the four-way business case [pdf] 1MB

Council meetings 22 March - plans on hold

Councillors were asked to decide whether to progress to the next stage of public consultation, to ask local people for their views.

Dover and Thanet councils voted to progress, however Shepway District Council voted not to proceed.

Canterbury's Policy and Resources Committee voted to recommend to Full Council that consultation should go ahead, but just as the Full Council meeting started, news of Shepway's decision came through. As a result, Canterbury did not take a vote on consultation, but instead agreed to continue discussions to explore alternatives.

As approval was required from all four councils to progress, plans for a single council will now be put on hold.

The councils will now take time to consider the alternative options to identify a suitable way forward.

Further information

You can read our Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) which were published ahead of publication of the business case.



Engagement Excellence Awards Logo

We would like to place cookies on your computer to make your experience of our website faster and more convenient. To find out more, please refer to our privacy policy . If you do not choose to accept cookies, some parts of this site may not work properly.

Please choose a setting: