Urgent Telephone Weekends : 01233 331111

Christmas Collection Dates

During the festive period, recycling and refuse collections may take place on different days – here's everything you need to know about this year's Christmas collection schedule.

When's my collection day?

You can lookup your bin collection day, download your collection calendars and report missed collections.

Check the calendar below, and read on for tips on how to recycle more this Christmas, including how you can recycle your Christmas tree.

Christmas 2020 bin collection dates
Week Normal Collection Day Revised Collection Day
Recycling Mon 21 Dec
Tues 22 Dec
Wed 23 Dec
Thurs 24 Dec
Fri 25 Dec
No Change
No Change
No Change
No Change
Mon 28 Dec
Refuse Mon 28 Dec
Tue 29 Dec
Wed 30 Dec
Thurs 31 Dec
Fri 1 Jan
Tues 29 Dec
Wed 30 Dec 
Thurs 31 Dec
Sat 2 Jan
Mon 4 Jan
Recycling Mon 4 Jan
Tue 5 Jan
Wed 6 Jan
Thurs 7 Jan
Fri 8 Jan
Tues 5 Jan
Wed 6 Jan
Thurs 7 Jan
Fri 8 Jan
Sat 9 Jan
Download Christmas calendar [pdf] 1.01MB

Garden waste collections will stop on Friday 25 December and resume on Monday 11 January 2021 with Friday 25 December collections being made on Monday 28 December. 

Clinical collections will remain the same except, collections due on Monday 28 December 2020 being moved Tuesday 29 December 2020 

All refuse and recycling should be put out for collection by 6am over Christmas and New Year and placed back in your boundary as soon as possible after collection to stop any obstruction to the highway. 

Normal collections will resume from Monday 11 January 2021.

Which bin do I put my Christmas items into?

Christmas items for recycling and refuse bins
Recycling (green bin) Refuse (grey bin)

Christmas cards  

Tin foil & foil serving trays  

Champagne, wine & beer bottles  

Non- foil wrapping paper 

Cardboard boxes  

Sweet/chocolate tins  

Mince pie foil cases

Tinsel 

Broken decorations 

Bubble wrap & soft plastic packaging like cellophane 

Foil/shiny wrapping paper 

Champagne & wine corks 

Polystyrene

 

Christmas tree recycling

Due to the latest government announcement, it is with much sadness and regret that Pilgrims Hospice has made the very difficult decision to cancel the Christmas Tree Recycling event for January 2021.

With the situation regarding Covid-19 taking yet another direction our upmost priority is the safety of our volunteers, staff, supporters and members of the public within our community. We thank our residents for the ongoing support and understanding to Pilgrims Hospices at this time.

If you aren’t keeping your living tree, please take it to Ashford’s Household Waste and Recycling Centre in Cobbs Wood Industrial Estate for recycling.

If you subscribe to our garden waste service, you can place your cut up tree in your brown wheeled bin and we will collect it.

Find out more and sign up to our garden waste collection service.