Universal Credit

What is Universal Credit?

Universal Credit is a part of the government’s welfare reform changes. Universal Credit will eventually replace the following benefits and tax credits:

  • Income Support;
  • Income-based Jobseeker’s Allowance;
  • Income-related Employment and Support Allowance;
  • Housing Benefit;
  • Child Tax Credit;
  • Working Tax Credit.

You will receive one monthly payment which covers the above benefits. 

Universal Credit provides a single system of support for working-age people who are in or out of work. It will usually be paid in a single monthly sum to households. It is based on your income and the amount of savings you have.

This means that if you live in the Ashford borough you will not be able to make a new claim for Housing Benefit unless you meet the following criteria:

If you don’t fall into one of these categories, you will need to make a claim for housing costs through Universal Credit.

If you do fall into one of these categories, please complete a Housing Benefit application form.