Urgent Telephone 4pm - 8.30am : 01233 331111

Ashford Borough Council Cabinet announced

Published: 02/05/2024
Civic Centre

Following his election as Leader of Ashford Borough Council, Cllr Noel Ovenden has appointed the following members to Cabinet and assigned their individual Portfolios.

Cllr Ovenden said: “Ashford Greens and Ashford Independents are working together in a joint administration to challenge the status quo. This Cabinet marks a radical departure from 20 years of single party dominance. With increased diversity of background, experience and gender, as well as group affiliation, we look forward to getting to work on collaborative and inclusive decision making for the benefit of all borough residents.”

Cllr Noel Ovenden – Leader of the Council

Cabinet Member for Prosperity and Resource

External Role at National, Regional and local level including Joint Working

Overall vision and strategic direction

Budget – Revenue & Capital Spend

ICT and Digital Services

Cllr Steve Campkin – Deputy Leader of the Council

Cabinet Member for Climate, Environment and Transport

Climate Change

Air Quality

Waste & Recycling

Sustainable Transport

Cycling strategy

Cllr Bill Barrett

Cabinet Member for Homes & Homelessness

Strategic Housing

Homelessness & Rough sleeping

Landlord Services

Cllr Simon Betty

Cabinet Member for Economic Growth & Investment

Corporate Property

Special Projects

Town Centre Assets

Regeneration Sites

Car Parks & Parking Strategy

Cllr Linda Harman

Cabinet Member for Planning, Housing Delivery & Communication

Planning & Neighbourhood Planning

Building Control

Planning Enforcement

Oversight of PR and Communications

Cllr Heather Hayward

Cabinet Member for Performance and Direction



Service Innovation

Promotion, Tourism

Art, Heritage & Culture

Cllr Dawnie Nilsson

Cabinet Member for People & Services

Human Resources

Customer Services

Cllr Kate Walder

Cabinet Member for Recreation and Public Spaces

Land Management

Waste & Recycling

Town Centre Public Realm

Sports & Community facilities

Oversight of Legal Services

Cllr Liz Wright

Cabinet Member for Communities & Health

Health & Wellbeing

Environmental Health

Equality & Diversity

Safer Streets

Older persons and Ageing well

Overview of Port Health